I’m About to Lose All My Pictures!

Uncategorized
I’ve used Webshots as my picture host for the almost 5 years I’ve run this blog. Now, Webshots is transforming into something called Smile and is going to be a storage place only, not a sharing site. What this means is that starting December 1, my 5 years of posts will loose all the pictures other than the few that I’ve uploaded directly to this blog (about a dozen posts). Google images sends me the majority of my traffic.

So now, what do I do? Do I go back to blogger? Do I go to wordpress.com? My current server is free, a friend is letting me use space on his server, but if I start uploading a bunch of pics and become a resource hog it won’t be. Flickr charges for over 200 pics. Is there any free picture service?

What about the old posts? The pictures will be gone and I’ve got almost 900 posts, it’ll take forever to replace those pics. Do I just delete the posts? Leave them and replace the pics as I get them? AAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!

7 thoughts on “I’m About to Lose All My Pictures!

  1. Sorry to hear this. I prefer WordPress over Blogger and have been with them for four years. Storage is generous and free. You can copy your past posts to WordPress fairly easily, but because your pictures are offsite, you’ll have to replace them as you find time. Good luck whatever you decide!

    Like

  2. Yes, you’re right. They added a LOT more space after a while, though, probably around the time all the e-mail sites made huge leaps forward in storage space. (remember when Hotmail was 2 MB total? I had to delete so much stuff…)

    ImageShack would be another decent free option. You can hotlink there as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

