New Netflix Instant Streaming for October 3, 2012 – Huge List!

Movies
247086_TV episodes & movies instantly streaming from Netflix. Start your FREE trial!

I sure hope you appreciate the pop up balloons with these lists, cause it takes a long time to do with a post this long! I think I counted 67 movies in this time.
  • Bloodlust (1961) One Amazon review calls it “Arguably the best camp version of The Most Dangerous Game
  • Troll (1986) I don’t endorse movies like this, but since it’s October I’ll at least let you know about it.
  • An American Werewolf in London (1981) John Landis is one underrated director, even though he put out 4 certifiable classics and many close to classic films in addition to the Michael Jackson Thriller video!
  • The Devil’s Hand (1961) Something about a voodoo doll.
  • The Legend of Hell House (1973)
  • The Omega Man (1971) I suppose this is really a zombie movie. Charlton Heston plays Will Smith in I Am Legend. I love this movie.
  • Teen Wolf (1985) Michael J. Fox in the title role. You know Michael Landon played I Was A Teenage Werewolf, right?
  • Vampire’s Kiss (1989) Nicolas Cage
  • Death Watch (1980) I thought this was a more recent movie from the description, but it’s 1980 and stars Harvey Keitel, Romy Schneider, Harry Dean Stanton, and Max von Sydow!
  • Trip with the Teacher (1975)
  • Houdini (1953) With Tony Curtis and Janet Leigh. If you don’t know who Houdini is, something is missing in your education.
  • Dressed to Kill (1941) Not the 1980 De Palma classic. This is about private eye Michael Shayne, a series in the 1940s.
  • Night Train to Munich (1940) Carol Reed (The Third Man) directs. I started watching this once and wasn’t able to finish, so I’m glad to see it on here. The sound quality isn’t very good (as with many of these early films) and it gets off to a slow start, but it was just starting to get good where I left off. Very British also.
  • The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (1962) WOW! If you haven’t seen this, you need to get to it right away! John Wayne, Jimmy Stewart, and Lee Marvin directed by John Ford. At this point in his career, I think John Ford was starting to question a lot of the Western myths and his movies show a turn from his earlier triumphalism.
  • The Master Gunfighter (1975) Looks like an awful movie with Tom Laughlin (Billy Jack), Ron O’Neal (Superfly), Barbara Carrera, and Burgess Meredith.
  • Superfly (1972) Classic Blacksploitation.
  • Battle of Britain (1969) Star-studded cast about fighter planes.
  • Racing with the Moon (1984) Directed by Richard Benjamin(!) and starring Sean Penn, Elizabeth McGovern, Nicolas Cage. Never heard of it, but it’s set in the 1940s.
  • Artists and Models (1955) Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis along with Shirley MacLaine and Eva Gabor.
  • Summer Rental (1985) Directed by Carl Reiner and stars John Candy. I’ve queued it up.
  • Breaker Morant: Masterworks Edition (1980) I’m not sure what makes this a Masterworks Edition, and if streaming removes all the extras that would make it Masterworks, but here you go.
  • Chattahoochee (1989) Gary Oldman and Dennis Hopper, Frances McDormand, and M. Emmet Walsh. Not really my kind of movie, but what an outstanding cast!
  • Death of a Salesman (1985) With Dustin Hoffman and John Malkovich.
  • Dreamscape (1984) Dennis Quaid, Max von Sydow, Christopher Plummer, Eddie Albert, and Kate Capshaw. This was like the king of VHS, everyone seemed to own it or rent it regularly. I, however, have probably never seen it straight through.
  • Hopscotch (1980) Walter Mattau is a CIA agent in trouble.
  • My Brilliant Career (1979)
  • A Night in Casablanca (1946) The Marx Brothers, not one of their best, but it’s still better than anything with Rob Schneider.
  • The Official Story (1985) Bunchie, this one is for you. Won Best Foreign Language Film.
  • Kagemusha (1980) Akira Kurosawa (The Seven Samurai) directs.
  • A Room with a View (1986) I watched this and thought it was nice, but I kept thinking, “Is there a point?”
  • Penny Serenade (1941) Depressing movie with Cary Grant and Irene Dunne. I was expecting a screwball comedy when I watched this, boy was I wrong!

Then we have a bunch of Bond! 007 is 50 this year in film, so that’s probably a big part of why there all came around.

One thought on “New Netflix Instant Streaming for October 3, 2012 – Huge List!

  1. A great slate of movies. And yes, The Official Story is awesome. You are right on about Hoosiers, every time i see it I end up cheering and weeping. I also recommend Diner, Dial M and Majesty’s Secret Service (for Diana RIgg), along with the others you you recommended.

    Like

Leave a Reply

