New Netflix Instant Streaming for August 6, 2012

Movies
247086_TV episodes & movies instantly streaming from Netflix. Start your FREE trial!

Well last time I asked for more classics, and now here they are. A few anyway.
  • The Accidental Tourist (1988) I’m a big fan of William Hurt and also like Lawrence Kasdan, but I don’t remember getting this movie. Perhaps I was too young. Also has Kathleen Turner, Geena Davis, David Ogden Stiers, Ed Begley Jr., and Bill Pullman.
  • Arsenic and Old Lace (1944) Cary Grant in his least subtle role. Very funny movie though, if you like over-the-top and black humor. Directed by Frank Capra.
  • Arthur (1981) Why does Hollywood try to re-capture lighning in a bottle? Dudley Moore and John Gielgud can not be replicated. This wasn’t expected to be a major hit, but it was the right cast at the right time.
  • Auntie Mame (1958) Rosalind Russell (you might know her from His Girl Friday) in her signature role.
  • The Bellboy (1960) Jerry Lewis.
  • Bonnie and Clyde (1967) Arthur Penn’s controversial film. With Warren Betty, Faye Dunaway, and Gene Hackman. I hated it.
  • Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958) I really don’t care for Tennessee Williams either. But, Elizabeth Taylor swinging her hips in her slip about sends me through the roof.
  • Class of Nuke ‘Em High (1986) From Troma studios.
  • Creepshow (1982)
  • D.C. Cab (1983) Hey, it’s got Mr. T! What more do you want? How about Gary Busey?
  • Funny Farm (1988) Chevy Chase. Directed by George Roy Hill (Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid and The Sting).
  • Heaven’s Gate (1980) The much derided film that bankrupted United Artists. All star cast.
  • High Noon (1952) Gary Cooper and Grace Kelly in a classic western.
  • I’m Gonna Git You Sucka (1988) Blaxploitation send up.
  • The Incredible Mr. Limpet (1964) Don Knotts.
  • Kiss Them for Me (1957) Cary Grant and Jayne Mansfield directed by Stanley Donen.
  • Little Shop of Horrors (1986)
  • The Milagro Beanfield War (1988) I love this movie! It’s one that I have to watch every couple of years. Stars Chick Vennera, who, as you know, was Marv Gomez The Leatherman in Thank God It’s Friday! This film has my favorite Melanie Griffith role. Directed by Robert Redford. I really love this movie.
  • Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life (1983)
  • Mr. Mom (1983) The classic with Michael Keaton.
  • Quest for Fire (1981) In high school our debate coach (a female) said something like “Have any of you seen Quest for Fire? It’s awful! Every time a woman bends over it’s BAM! Like Rabbits.” So of course, for the rest of our high school years “BAM! Like Rabbits!” was a constant saying. Or just saying “Quest for Fire” could get us laughing.
  • Risky Business (1983) Oh my! Tom Cruise in his underwear and Rebecca De Mornay.
  • Superman II (1980)
  • Surf Nazis Must Die (1987) Not sure why I even mention stuff like this.
  • Tequila Sunrise (1988) Mel Gibson, Michelle Pfeiffer, and Kurt Russell. Directed by Robert Towne who wrote the screenplay for Chinatown.
  • Tightrope (1984) Clint Eastwood.
  • The Toxic Avenger (1985) also Part 2 and Part 3. I believe this was kind of a minor classic among some of my friends.
  • Amityville II: The Possession (1982)
  • Platoon (1986)

Instantly watch from thousands of TV episodes & movies streaming from Netflix. Try Netflix for FREE!
4 thoughts on “New Netflix Instant Streaming for August 6, 2012

  1. Milagro is one of my favorites too! Yep I watch it every few years. And Heaven’s Gate is actually not bad…just way too long and the sound mix on the dialogue is terrible. Can’t understand a word

    Like

  2. I’m reading one of Terence Stamp’s multiple autobiographies at the moment, so I must revisit Superman II. KNEEL BEFORE ZOD!

    I’d stream I’m Gonna Git You Sucka just for the Chris Rock scene alone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

