JVC – Video the Better Way – Early VHS Booklets

Books, Ephemera, Maps, Television
Here’s some vintage VHS booklets when the medium was new. Video the Better Way: A New Art for a New Age. JVC VHS. There are five booklets in here, Basics, Production, Enhancement, Applications, and Supplements. I’m going to be putting this on eBay unless one of my gentle readers contacts me today. I don’t remember seeing a copyright date, but it does mention the equipment lineup “as of December 1980.” I couldn’t scan it without damaging the binding, so I took photos as best as I could.

When I first saw this on the shelf, I thought it was an old tape, but when I was it was a set of booklets in a VHS-tape sized container, I thought, “How cool!”

I didn’t actually know anyone who owned a VCR until about 1985. Before that we had to rent the machine along with the movie, and it wasn’t cheap. It was cheaper to go out to eat or cruse around all night.

001
003
004
005
006

“Possibilities for introducing Video into your life.” I like how Video is capitalized.

007
008

Look at the size of those VCRs and cameras! VCRs with wired remotes!

009
010
011
012
013
014
015
016
017
018
019

Check out the map of the world’s color and black and white TV broadcasting systems.

020
021
022
3 thoughts on “JVC – Video the Better Way – Early VHS Booklets

  1. Howdy there! This is totally not on topic but I have a favor to ask. Do you know anything about a song called “Digby’s Blues?” I guess it was a song for a radio show in the 40’s and my mom is trying to locate. I realize your interests probably don’t go that far back, but I thought I’d see if you could point me in the right direction.

    Like

    1. Wow Adam, I think I’d need more info than that, I sure can’t find anything. What radio show? Was it local or national? I’m a librarian so I have some research skills. If you can give me more info I can see what I can dig up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

