New on Netflix Instant 10-01-11

Movies
Lot of them this week. If you’re going to join, use my ad, thanks.

  • Heart Like a Wheel (1983) – This is an excellent movie about Shirley “Cha Cha” Muldowney, the first female professional drag racer. Highly recommended, though Don “Big Daddy” Garlits didn’t like the way he was portrayed. This is one that I’d recommend the extras as they have the real people talking about it. Stars Bonnie Belinda and Beau Bridges.
  • The Ernie Kovacs Collection (1951) – If you’ve seen television, you’ve seen the influence of Ernie Kovacs. Laugh-In is a direct decendent. Check him out.
  • Father Knows Best (1954-56) – They really truely don’t make them like this anymore. If that’s good or bad, I’ll let you decide. I like the one where Ricky (Ricky Nelson) wants a hot rod.
  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (1993-98) – I figured some of you would like to know about this.
  • The Wonder Years (1988-1992) – I don’t think I’ve seen a complete episode, I didn’t own a TV during these years. But, I sure heard a lot of good about it. I’ll have to try and catch some now.
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) – I hate this movie.
  • King Kong (1976) – I love this movie. Jessica Lange, Jeff Bridges, Charles Grodin and a giant gorilla.
  • An Officer and a Gentleman (1982) – I watched this the night before I left for Basic Training. Big mistake. Other than if you’re shipping off in the next week, great movie. Richard Gere, Louis Gossett Jr., and Debra Winger.
  • Death Wish 2 (1982) – Charles Bronson deals more vengeance.
  • Once Upon a Time in the West (1968) – One of the best openings ever. A bunch of guys waiting at a train station platform for a train. The rest of the movie as I remember is s-l-o-w. But it’s been a few years. Charles Bronson, Jason Robards, Henry Fonda, and Claudia Cardinale.
  • War Arrow (1953) – Never seen it. Maureen O’Hara, Jeff Chandler, and John McIntire (you’ll know him when you see him). Maureen is enough for me to want to see it.
  • Across the Wide Missouri (1951) – I’ve seen this on a list of best Westerns. Clark Gable.
  • Chief Crazy Horse (1955) – Victor Mature stars as an Indian. Instant only.
  • Warlock (1959) – This Western stars Richard Widmark, Henry Fonda, Anthony Quinn, Dorothy Malone, and DeForest Kelley (Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy from Star Trek!)
  • Lonely are the Brave (1962) – Kirk Douglas in another high ranked Western.
  • Micheal Winslow: Live (2002) – That crazy sounds guy from Police Academy movies.

2 thoughts on “New on Netflix Instant 10-01-11

Leave a Reply

