My Rant about Netflix and New Netflix Instant 9-23-11

Movies
I’m not too sure I’m going to keep doing this update, Netflix has really “torqued my ‘nads,” as a friend used to say. Frankly, I’ve come to the conclusion that they think they have too many customers. Netflix is systematically trying to thin the herd. First they get rid of the community aspects, then they raise the price and steaming is no longer free, then they split into two websites.

The community was cool, I liked suggesting movies to my brother and seeing what was in his queue, but it wasn’t a big deal. I didn’t throw a fit about it going away, but an awful lot of people did.

The price increase didn’t really bother me too much, I can always drop from 3-discs-at-a-time to two (or one after the kids are gone). I know Instant has no mailing and no discs, but it does take aggressive dealings with the studios, lawyers, and lots and lots of bandwidth and lots and lots servers, and people to run them. And I guarantee those people cost more than the envelope stuffers. So I’m OK with paying for that.

However, as I’m sure most of you have heard, they are now splitting streaming/instant and discs into two companies with separate websites. So they raise the price, and instead of making it more convenient for the customer (successful business protocol), they are going to make it more difficult. Brilliant plan there! Please tell me it’s an April fool’s joke!

Streaming has a few funky movies that are Instant Only, but most of what I watch is on both or DVD only. I’ll probably drop the streaming and be left with the stupid named company, Quickster. The name Quickster was decided in a Board meeting when one of the guys said, “Hey, I’ve got this domain name I bought back in 1999 for a company that didn’t work out. I’ve still got the domain, so why don’t we vote the company buy it from me?”

Another issue with Instant is they have movies come on and roll off all the time. These Bond movies were on instant a few months ago, then they went off, and now, here they are again. Keeps thing interesting, I don’t mind that, as long as they also on disc.

  • Goldfinger (1964) – Probably the most famous Bond movie and one of my favorites.
  • From Russia with Love (1963) – Don’t know that I’ve seen this one.
  • Dr. No (1962) – My personal favorite.
  • On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1969) – Never seen it. It’s not as scorned as it once was, and several people claim to really like it.
  • Great Balls of Fire (1989) – Dennis Quaid as The Killer, Jerry Lee Lewis. Also has Winona Ryder.
  • Absence of Malice (1981) – The Mighty Paul Newman and Sally Field. I’ve wanted to see this since it was in the theaters. Somehow, I never have. Yet.

Instantly watch from thousands of TV episodes & movies streaming from Netflix. Try Netflix for FREE!

3 thoughts on “My Rant about Netflix and New Netflix Instant 9-23-11

  1. Great rant. Couldn’t agree more! Absence of Malice is a favorite of mine. Great work from Sally Field and Paul Newman…and Wilford Brimley shows up at the end to steal the movie. The issues it deals with are just as relevant today as 30 years ago.

    Like

  2. I heard something on NPR yesterday that explained why Netflix did what they did…by splitting it into two businesses, they can now go forward with the new sharing collaboration with Facebook. Apparently, it is against the law to share the kind of information such as what DVDs people are renting. But now that can do the same thing that Hulu does with the sharing (apparently, the law doesn’t cover streaming) and having a whole bunch of people watching the same movie/show at the same time. I was pretty annoyed until I heard that analysis and it suddenly made sense. Now I’m just annoyed that I’ll have to deal with two different websites but I don’t wonder if the company is imploding. (I think I heard it on Marketplace, but I’m not sure).

    Like

Leave a Reply

