Week of Weekly Reader – Day 5

Newspapers
Last one for this week. I do have more that will pop up occasionally. This is another Summer Edition of My Weekly Reader A, Volume 42, Issue 1, June 15th, 1973. Buddy the bear as a stick puppet is the cover.

Then dinosaurs in Canada. Who knew? I went someplace in Missouri or Arkansas as a kid that had dinosaurs like this. And a cave too I think. And a swaying bridge over the lake which scared me to death because I thought a dinosaur would pop out of the water. I knew it would be mechanical, but water scares me anyway and the thought of a dino springing out of the water almost had me frozen.

Then the story “Mouse Music” by Carol Collver. I can tell you that these stories in these magazines are nice, but they never compare to the book. I think it’s from the limited amount of pictures. One of the best kids stories that I saw in a magazine later without all the illustrations from the book was A Porcupine Named Fluffy. A Porcupine Named Fluffy is one of the ALL TIME BEST kids books, and when I read it in the magazine, it somehow seemed lacking without the fantastic pictures to help the words. After all that, “Mouse Music” doesn’t seem to be a book.

They couldn’t find a nice fresh yellow banana to make the banana animal out of?

WRJun1973 (1) (Large)
WRJun1973 (3) (Large)
WRJun1973 (4) (Large)
WRJun1973 (5) (Large)

Leave a Reply

