Best Movies of All Time (that I have seen)

Movies
I have decided to do a list of the 50 greatest films of all time. My list will be like no one else’s. That I can guarantee.

There should be about one a week in no particular order for this year. I’m going to try and re-watch each one before writing up a review. We’ll see how I do with keeping up.

Some people suggest that making best-of lists is a waste of time. Those people are dolts. Lists can point the uninitiated to some great stuff they may have otherwise missed. When something appears on many lists, that can be a guide to what kinds of things are generally considered must-see. I’ve happily discovered many great things this way. Hopefully, you’ll discover a gem or two from mine.

One of the challenges of these lists is “what is the criteria?” Here’s mine: I have to have seen it. I have to have said “Wow” after watching it more than once.

[ad#ad-2]

Now, I haven’t seen as many movies as most other film nuts my age (mid 40s), because I didn’t have a TV for 8 years and I haven’t had cable since I left my parents house at 18. And back then, HBO was pretty much it for movie channels. We didn’t have AMC, TCM or anything like that in my little town. And while I was in college I think we watched the same 6 movies for 9 years, which limits the time to see new movies.

My list will have nothing to do with “importance,” “Art,” “innovations,” or even “quality.” What they are, is what movies (as opposed to film perhaps?) are supposed to be: entertainment. I am always in an elevated mood when I watch one of these shows. So, this is going to be a ridiculously subjective list, possibly the most subjective list you’ve ever seen. But every one of these are shows I rate 5 stars. Most of you are going to look at this list and say, “What an idiosyncratic mess!” And you will be right.

The updated list will kept on the right side of the page under “Greatest Movies.” If you like looking at “best of” lists, the best place to find them is at filmsite.org. http://www.filmsite.org/momentsindx.html is his own list, while he has compiled enough other lists to make your head spin here: http://www.filmsite.org/greatlists2.html

6 thoughts on “Best Movies of All Time (that I have seen)

  1. Robert, this is a great idea. Too many films are given high regards but are not something the average person cares to stomach. Bring on your list!

    Like

  2. Great idea. Even tho I don’t always agree with your opinion, I almost ALWAYS respect it. I will be curious to see what makes the list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

