Lord of The Rings Paperback Covers

Books
Someone out there is collecting all versions of Tolkien’s Trilogy covers. I just know it. So, here I am, doing my part to help. I, personally, am not into fantasy. Mrs. Hound, who ain’t no dog, really wanted to go see Fellowship of the Ring when it came out, I didn’t really care to. Well, I went and I was completely lost. The sum total of what I knew before going in was that Hobbits were small, had hairy feet, and lived in holes in the ground. Maybe I’d heard the name Frodo. Totally bewildered at the end of that first movie, I hoped to get out of seeing any others. Well, when I saw Two Towers, I was blown away. Love that movie! Then came the third one which has about 15 endings. So, being the great guy that I am, I wait for the “extended version” of all three to come out as a box set and buy that for my wife for Christmas (and birthday, that’s a lot more than we usually spend) one year. So now I’ve seen it several times and I like it. Do you really care about any of that? No. You’re just here for the pictures.

CCF08252010_00001

J. R. R. Tolkien, Fellowship of the Ring. Ballantine Books 33208, 1954, 1965, 1982. Cover Art by Darrell K. Sweet.

CCF08252010_00002

J. R. R. Tolkien, The Two Towers, Ballantine Books U7041, 1965, I don’t know the artist.

CCF08252010_00000

J. R. R. Tolkien, The Return of the King, Ballantine Books 01535 095, 1965, 1972. I don’t know the artist, but it sure looks like the Two Towers artist.

2 thoughts on “Lord of The Rings Paperback Covers

Leave a Reply

