Scrumdidilyumptious Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Album

Movies, Music
Wonka139
Wonka140

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory a Scrumdidilyumptious soundtrack. Paramount records PAS 6012. 1971.

I remember seeing this in the theater in Lombard, Illinois, across the street from my house. I was in kindergarten. I always tried to catch it on TV whenever I could. Youngsters today don’t know how hard it was to see your favorite movie more than once back then. If you parents wanted to see something on another channel, you were just out of luck for the next couple years till those idiots at the networks decided to show it again.

Gene Wilder is the perfect person for this role. 1971 seems like the perfect year for this also, the 1960s had made things wacko, and the 1970s version of wacko was just beginning. Like Alice in Wonderland, Willy Wonka reminds one of an acid trip (hence the Jefferson Airplane song “White Rabbit” from Alice). And, like Alice in Wonderland, Willy Wonka had the name changed from the book to the movie. The book is Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, focusing on the kid, while the movie took the right direction for a visual medium and focused on Wonka. Alice in Wonderland‘s book title is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

One of the songs on this album, “The Candy Man,” was a huge hit for Sammy Davis Jr. If you are interested in Sammy Davis Jr. or any of the Rat Pack, check out my buddy Keith‘s blog The Dino Lounge/ Coolness is Timeless.

4 thoughts on “Scrumdidilyumptious Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory Album

  1. Hey there. Thanks so much for the mention of my blog. I appreciate it. I love Sammy’s version of the Candy Man song. I love this movie. It’s out of sight. The music is great in it. It’s definitely a sight for the eyes and ears. Cheers!

    Like

  2. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was one of my favorite books when I was a kid. I loved the movie, but since it was the age before VCR’s, I bought the book. I must’ve read through that thing a dozen times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

